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Date: June 2, 2015 

 

Action: Notice of Intent to Consider the Adoption of an Amendment to Chapter 290-1-8-

.02 related to Consumer Reports (Credit Reports) to be Obtained for Youth in Foster 

Care. 

 

To All Interested Persons and Parties: 

Pursuant to the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, O.C.G.A. §§ 4-4-2 and 4-4-83, 

notice is hereby given that the Georgia Department of Human Services. Division of 

Family and Children Services will be considering the adoption of an amendment to 290-

1-8-.02 related to Consumer Reports (Credit Reports) to be obtained for Youth in Foster 

Care. The Department will be accepting written comments from June 2, 2015, to close of 

business (4:30 p.m. EDT) on June 15, 2015. 

 

Synopsis, Main Features and Differences: 

The Georgia Department of Human Services, Division of Family and Children Services 

(DFCS) will be considering the adoption of a rule amendment to change the age at which 

credit reports are required to be obtained for children in foster care, from 16 years to 14 

years, under Section 1 of Chapter 290-1-8-.02. 

 

Additionally, the Department is proposing to change the age, from 16 years to 14 years, 

under Section 2 of Chapter 290-1-8-.02, which requires that the Department ensure that 

children in foster care receive assistance in interpreting and resolving inaccuracies in the 

provided report.  

 

This change is being proposed following the amendment of 42 USC Section 675(5)(I). 
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Section 113(b)(2)(B) of PL 113-183, the Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening 

Families Act, amended 42 USC Section 675(5)(I) to require that, as a part of the  case 

plan requirements, under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act, each child in foster care 

who has reached the age of 14  receive a credit report annually and receive assistance in 

interpreting the report and correcting any inaccuracies.  Previously, the age at which 

children in care were required to begin receiving credit reports was 16. 

 

This change is necessary for DFCS to remain compliant with the requirements of Title 

IV-E of the Social Security Act.  Beginning credit monitoring for youth in foster care at a 

younger age will aid the State in capturing inaccuracies in credit reports for these youth at 

an earlier period. 

 

Authority: 42 U.S.C. 675(5)(I); O.C.G.A. §§ 49-5-42 and 49-5-43. History: Original 

Rule entitled “Consumer Reports (Credit Reports) To Be Obtained for Youth in Foster 

Care” adopted, June 19, 2013; eff. Jul. 9, 2013.  

PL 113-183, “The Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening Families Act” eff. Sep. 

29, 2014. 

 

Comment Period and Additional Information: 

The Department will be accepting written comments from June 2, 2015, to close of 

business (4:30 p.m. EDT) on June 15, 2015. Comments will be considered on June 17, 

2015. Please submit written comments to: 

Harold Johnson, Office of General Counsel 

Georgia Department of Human Services 

2 Peachtree Street NW, Suite 29-101 

Atlanta, Georgia 30303 

Telephone Number: (404) 463-0590 

FAX Number: (404) 657-1123 

Interested persons may call or submit a written request to obtain a copy of the proposed 

rule(s). A copy of the synopsis and the proposed rule(s) may be downloaded from the 

Georgia Department of Human Services, Division of Family and Children Services 

website at http://dfcs.dhs.georgia.gov/foster-care. 

http://dfcs.dhs.georgia.gov/foster-care
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This notice is given in compliance with the Georgia Administrative Procedure Act, 

O.C.G.A. § 50-13-4. 

 

 


