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STATE OF GEORGIA 

POST-SECONDARY TUITION WAIVER PROGRAM  
APPLICATION DETERMINATION 

 
 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 
 

1. What is the State of Georgia Post-Secondary Tuition Waiver?  

The State of Georgia Post-Secondary Tuition Waiver Program exempts or waives payment of tuition and fees 

(and where applicable, on-campus housing) for students attending a technical college within the Technical 

College System of Georgia (TCSG). Eligible students must be a youth or young adult between the ages of 18 

– 27 who is currently in foster care, has experienced foster care, identifies as homeless, or who was placed 

for adoption by the Georgia Division of Family and Children Services.  

 

2. How can I apply for the State of Georgia Post-Secondary Tuition Waiver? 

A waiver eligibility application can be completed online on the Georgia Division of Family and Children 

Services website. 

 

3. What are the eligibility criteria for the State of Georgia Tuition Waiver? 

As outlined within Georgia Code Sections 20-3-66 and 20-3-660, you must apply under one of the three 

eligibility criteria: 

             Homeless Applicant Eligibility 

• Between the age of 18 and 24 years old 

• Has graduated from a Georgia high school or an equivalent high school in another state OR Has 
received a HiSET or General Educational D evelopment (GED) diploma awarded by the Technical 
College System of Georgia or the equivalent from another state. 

• Currently lacks, or during the previous academic year lacked, a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime 
residence as described under the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, codified at 42 U.S.C. 
Section 11301, et seq., as of January 1, 2021. 

 
      Foster Care Applicant Eligibility (must meet one of the criteria below) 

• Currently in the custody of the Georgia Department of Family and Children Services; OR 

• Under age 28 and was in foster care for at least 6 months following your 14th birthday; OR 

• Under age 28 and exited foster care at age 18. 
 

      Adoption Applicant Eligibility 

• The student's (Applicant) family currently receives adoption assistance for the student; and the 
student was placed for adoption by the Georgia Division of Family and Children Services following 
their thirteenth birthday; OR 

• The student (Applicant) is an adopted person under age 28; and was in the permanent legal custody 

of Georgia and placed for adoption by the Division of Family and Children Services following their 

14th birthday. 

 

4. After I have applied, when will I receive a decision? 

You will receive a response within 7 – 14 business days. 

   

5. Who can I contact if I have additional questions? 

All questions should be emailed to Tuition.Questions@dhs.ga.gov.  

 

6. Is there an expiration date for my waiver? 

Eligibility determination letters do not expire until you turn age 28 and over. The State of Georgia Post-

Secondary Tuition Waiver Program is only for applicants under the age of 28 who also meet the additional 

criteria as listed on the website.    
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7. How far in advance should I apply for the waiver? 

Applicants may apply for eligibility determination at any time; however, the student should communicate with 

the enrolled college to determine if there is a deadline to submit waivers for each semester or admission date.   

 

8. Does the waiver automatically enroll me into college? 

No.  The waiver provides an eligibility determination only. The applicant must apply and speak with the college 

directly about admission and enrollment requirements.  

 

9. What schools accept the State of Georgia Post-Secondary Tuition Waiver? 

At this time, only schools within the Technical College System of Georgia are participating in the Tuition Waiver 

Program.  

 

10. What information will I need to prior to completing the Tuition Waiver Application? 

It may be helpful to have available the following information prior to completing the Tuition Waiver Application:  

 

• Name of Academic Institution you are attending (or plan to attend) 

• Completed Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) 

• Email address where you receive email 

• Current mailing address where you receive mail 

There will be other information requested on the application. 

 


