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AGED, BLIND AND DISABLED MEDICAID (ABD) 
 

 
AGED, BLIND AND DISABLED MEDICAID IN GEORGIA: 
ABD Medicaid in Georgia serves persons who are 65 years of age or older, legally blind or 
totally disabled. There are 19 different coverage categories, known as classes of assistance 
(COA), for the ABD population (see below for the primary categories). 
 
An individual’s living arrangement, types and amount of income, marital status and prior 
Medicaid eligibility, among other factors, determine the most appropriate COA.  
 
HOW DOES A FAMILY APPLY FOR ABD? 
An application may be filed online at www.COMPASS.ga.gov. When requesting coverage for 
someone who is 65 or older, legally blind or disabled, with children under 19 years of age or a 
pregnant woman, select “Health Coverage Aged, Blind, or Disabled Individuals”. Also, paper 
applications can be filed at any local DFCS office by mail, fax or in person. If you have difficulty 
completing the application, someone will assist you at the local office. 
 
  
WHO CAN RECEIVE ABD? 
Individuals must meet the following non-financial criteria in addition to meeting the financial 
eligibility criteria before being eligible for any ABD class of assistance: 
 

• Age 65 or older, totally disabled, or blind; 
• A U.S. citizen or an alien who was lawfully admitted for permanent residence prior to 

August 22, 1996; 
• A resident of Georgia (there is no time limit to establish residency, only the intention to 

permanently live in Georgia); 
• Agree to assign all health insurance benefits to the Georgia Department of Community 

Health; 
• Apply for and accept all other monetary benefits, payments or allotments. 
 

Financial Criteria: 
Financial criteria are divided into two groups, income and assets. In determining eligibility, a 
DFCS eligibility worker will consider the total gross monthly income of the applicant from all 
sources. This includes Social Security benefits, any pensions, retirement, wages, interest, 
dividends, etc. If the applicant is living with a spouse, the case manager will also consider the 
income of the spouse.  
 
Every ABD Medicaid category has a maximum allowable limit for assets. Countable assets do 
not include the individual’s home place. One vehicle may be exempt per ABD household. 
Countable assets include but are not limited to:  

• Any real property other than the home 
• All bank accounts 
• Investments such as certificates of deposit, stocks, bonds, and promissory notes 
• Inherited property, and jointly owned assets 
• Life insurance over $5,000 may count 
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An asset counts against the Medicaid limit if the individual has legal ownership and the legal 
right to sell the asset, even if the person does not have physical access to it, or if there is no 
market for it.  Any asset given away within the past 60 months may count and result in a 
transfer penalty being applied. 
 
In addition to the allowable asset limit, an individual is allowed to set aside up to $1,500 or 
$10,000 to pay for funeral expenses, depending on the category of coverage. This money must 
be separately identifiable and cannot be used for any other purpose. Cemetery lots are not 
counted and an individual may own a pre-need burial contract but, depending on the type of 
contract, a portion of the contract may be counted toward the burial limit. 
 
Individuals with total gross monthly income less than the federal benefit rate who apply for 
ABD Medicaid will be referred to the Social Security Administration to apply for Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI). This is a financial assistance program which, if an individual is eligible, 
also automatically qualifies the individual for Medicaid. For 2015, the monthly income 
maximum is $733 for an individual and $1,100 for a couple. 
 
WHAT IS COVERED BY THE ABD PROGRAM? 
Institutionalized Care — Includes nursing home, hospice, and hospital stays of 30 days or 
more; Community Care Services; the Mental Retardation Waiver program; and Community 
Habilitation Support Services. 
 
The monthly income limit for an individual is $2,199. Individuals whose income is more than 
$2,199 and have a funded Qualified Income Trust established can potentially still be eligible.  
 
Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMB) — Coverage pays an individual’s Medicare 
premium, Medicare coinsurance and deductibles. Prescription drugs are not covered under this 
COA.  
 
The income limit for QMB is $990 for an individual and $1,334 for a couple. 
 
Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMB) — Program pays the monthly 
premium for Medicare Supplemental Medical Insurance (Part B). This COA offers no Medicaid 
benefits.  
 
The income limit for SLMB is $1,187 for an individual and $1,600 for a couple. 
 
Public Laws — Through the years, Congress has passed six public laws that provide 
continued Medicaid coverage for people who have been terminated from Social Security  
Income (SSI). Each public law has different financial criteria. 
 
Adult Medically Needy — Program has no income limit. Individuals are allowed to use 
medical expenses to “spend down” the difference between their income and the medically 
needy income level.  
 
The medically needy income level is $317 for an individual and $375 for a couple. Medically 
Needy is calculated on a monthly basis, and only pays for medical bills incurred after the 
spend-down is met each month. 
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Deeming Waiver (Katie Beckett Medicaid) — Available to children under the age of 18 who 
are financially ineligible for SSI and determined to be in need of institutionalized care but have 
chosen to remain at home because they can be cared for at a lower cost. 
 
The individual income limit is $2,199 gross total income per month. The income and assets of 
the parent(s) are not considered. 
 
Application for Katie Beckett Medicaid can be made online at COMPASS or by downloading an 
application at mailing it to the Centralized Katie Beckett Medicaid Team. More information on 
applying for Katie Beckett Medicaid may be found at http://dch.georgia.gov/tefrakatie-beckett. 
 
HOW LONG CAN A FAMILY RECEIVE ABD? 
There is no time limit for receiving ABD benefits; however, cases must be renewed each year 
for continued Medicaid eligibility.  
 
HOW DO I RENEW MY BENEFITS? 
A renewal letter will be mailed to each family or recipient that gives instructions on the renewal 
process. Families can renew their benefits at www.compass.ga.gov. In order to use the online 
renewal process, the family must know the client id of the head of the household and use it to 
create an online account prior to going to the ‘renew my benefits’ section.  
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