Data may have been compromised for some households involved in Child Protective Services cases in Spring 2020. If you believe your information may have been included in this breach, call 888-304-1021 from 9 a.m. – 4 p.m., M-F.
Georgia DFCS launches child abuse registry
ATLANTA — The Division of Family and Children Services (DFCS) today launched a registry that will allow employers of certain child-serving agencies to find out if a job applicant has been deemed an alleged child abuser by the Division.
The central child abuse registry, called the Child Protective Services Information System (CPSIS), will include the names of people who allegedly abused a child on or after July 1. The registry will only be accessible to certain child caring employers and agencies, allowing these employers to learn if an applicant has a substantiated allegation of abuse with the Division.
Georgia Code 49-5-181, signed into law by Gov. Nathan Deal in 2015, requires the Division to establish and maintain a central registry of all allegations of abuse that were substantiated by the Division beginning July 1. It also requires the Division to notify each individual of his or her placement on the registry and provide instructions on how to appeal the decision via certified mail.
The Division substantiates an allegation of abuse only after a preponderance of the evidence demonstrates that a caregiver committed child abuse.
“We need to make sure we are doing everything we can to keep children safe, especially while in the care of others. The creation of the registry will make sure child caring agencies have access to the information they need to make the best hiring and licensing decisions,” said Bobby Cagle, director of the Division of Family and Children Services.
The employers/agencies allowed access to information on the registry include:
- Child Protective Services investigators for the purpose of assessing specific allegations.
- State or other government agencies responsible for providing care for children.
- The Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning (DECAL) for the purpose of determining the fitness of employees in day care facilities and prior to issuance of a child care license.
- Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) programs for the purpose of screening and selecting individuals to serve as CASA employees or volunteers.
- Individuals who want to request a self-check.
For more information visit: http://dfcs.dhs.georgia.gov/child-abuse-registry-%E2%80%93-cpsis